Enugu State University of Science and Technology

About Us

Convinced that the Postgraduate programmes would strengthen and reinforce the undergraduate programmes of the University, Senate in 1982, created the School of Postgraduate Studies and empowered it to commence the Postgraduate programmes of the University.

A committee on Postgraduate Studies was constituted and was mandated to plan and work out the details for regular Postgraduate programmes.

The programmes took off during the 1983/84 session in three faculties of the defunct Anambra State University of Science and Technology: Faculty of Biological Science, Faculty of Physical Sciences and Faculty of Engineering with a total student enrolment of less than ten and consisting mainly of graduate assistants employed in the various departments of these faculties.

By the 1985/86 session, Senate had approved Postgraduate programmes for Postgraduate Diplomas, Masters and Doctorate Degrees in seven Faculties namely: Applied Biological Science, Applied Physical Sciences, Education, Engineering, Management Sciences, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, the total student enrolment rose to one thousand and twenty-two.

The total Postgraduate student population in the 1992/93 session was about one thousand. The drop in the Postgraduate student population from that in the 1985/85 to one thousand in 1992/93 session was due to the creation of New Anambra State and the subsequent establishment of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University using Awka and Nnewi campuses of the defunct ASUTECH as nucleus of the new University.

Talk to us

085 888 5555